Soft & Thick Snickerdoodles

20130812-123903.jpgI cannot deny that my heart has greatly desired this. I have long been searching for the perfect, all butter, thick and fluffy snickerdoodle recipe. And although my browned butter ones are delicious, I wanted one without browned butter, that worked every time. One of the reasons I love this recipe is that you don’t have to chill the dough! Which takes off 30 minutes to 2 hours off of prep. time. Hurray for quick snickerdoodles!!!

20130812-123948.jpg I can’t take credit for the development of this recipe, because Sally at Sally’s Baking Addiction developed it! When I saw her recipe, I was so excited that I might have screamed. No really. My other recipe would not turn out the last few times I made it (without browning the butter) and I wanted them way thicker. I needed a recipe that worked every time, and it had to have what I think is the key ingredient: cream of tartar. As I’ve said before, cream of tartar is what gives these cookies that wonderful tangy taste. Without it, you just have cinnamon sugar cookies, and that is FALSE! Sally solved my thickness problem AND chilling problem by simply adding more flour. I love it when a plan comes together! If you’re looking for a quick, thick, fluffy, all butter, cream of tartar, no fail snickerdoodle recipe, this is it!!

20130812-124742.jpg

Soft & Thick Snickerdoodles

Ingredients

1 cup unsalted butter, softened
1 1/3 cup (9.3oz) granulated sugar
1 large egg
2 tsp vanilla extract
3 cups (15oz) all-purpose flour
2 tsp cream of tartar
1 tsp baking soda
2 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp salt

Cinnamon Sugar

1/4 cup (1.75oz) granulated sugar
1 tsp cinnamon

Directions

Preheat oven to 375F. Line two large cookie sheets with parchment paper or spray with cooking spray. Set aside.
To make cinnamon sugar: stir together 1/4 cup granulated sugar and 1 tsp cinnamon in small bowl. Set aside.
To make cookies: In large bowl using a stand mixer, cream butter for about 1 minute on medium speed. Add sugar on medium speed until fluffy. Add egg and vanilla. Scrape down sides as needed. Set aside.
In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, cream of tartar, baking soda, and salt. On low speed, slowly add dry ingredients to wet ingredients in 3 different parts. Dough will be thick. Roll dough into 11/2-2 Tbsp balls. Roll balls in cinnamon sugar. Bake cookies on middle oven rack for 8-12 minutes. The cookies will be very puffy and soft. While they’re still warm, lightly press down on them with the back of a spoon to flatten them a bit if needed. Cool on baking sheet for 10 minutes and transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

Yield: about 2 dozen cookies

One thought on “Soft & Thick Snickerdoodles

Leave a Reply

